krotchoice.blogg.se

Mac system preferences panes not appearing
Mac system preferences panes not appearing




mac system preferences panes not appearing

That Mac mini was kept on Mac OS X 10.6.8 for the whole four years it was in my custody (2011–2015) and it was switched off only twice during that period and maybe restarted four or five times in total. So, I used Snow Leopard on my 2009 MacBook Pro for about three years, and then again on a 2010 Mac mini that a friend gave me to maintain, as a sort of offsite backup. On my 2009 MacBook Pro, I kept using it until mid-2012, as Mac OS X 10.7 Lion (released in July 2011) didn’t fully convince me at first, so I waited until at least version 10.7.3 before upgrading. As you know (and if you don’t, here’s a refresher), together with Mac OS X 10.4 Tiger, Snow Leopard was one of the Mac OS versions with the longest lifespan - almost two years, from August 2009 to July 2011, when the final 10.6.8 v1.1 minor release came out. When I purchased my 15-inch MacBook Pro in July 2009, it came with Mac OS X 10.5.7 (Leopard), but I immediately upgraded to Snow Leopard when it was released a month or so afterwards. It was sort of a gut-reply based largely on fond memories of using that Mac OS version quite extensively. When I wrote back to those who asked me, I replied Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard.

mac system preferences panes not appearing

It’s a more than fair question, and this piece serves as an answer. A few - some provocatively, some genuinely curious - asked me something along the lines of, Well, if you dislike the current Big Sur UI and Mac experience, what’s an example of Mac OS UI and experience you DO like?

mac system preferences panes not appearing

The sheer majority of feedback I received was very positive, with many many people agreeing with me and my observations. Unlike my four-part series ‌Mac OS Catalina: more trouble than it’s worth, however, it didn’t attract any hate mail at all. My recent article, The reshaped Mac experience, received a lot of attention judging from the response on Twitter and the WordPress analytics - apparently, among other places, it reached Hacker News and Reddit.






Mac system preferences panes not appearing